29 Westlake Students Named National Merit Semifinalists

Westlake High School has 29 semifinalists competing in the 2016-17 National Merit Scholarship Program. Nationally 16,000 students were chosen to continue in the 62nd annual competition for 7,500 Merit Scholarships worth more than $33 million that will be offered next spring. The nationwide pool of semifinalists represents less than one percent of U.S. high school seniors.

National Merit semifinalists from Westlake High School for 2016-17 are:

Abby Audet
Selina Eshraghi
Kevin Fang
Caroline Firme
Andrea Grant
Owen Graves
Sarah Guenov
Serene Hoskins
Michael Huang
Ian Hunicke-Smith
Arthi Kozhumam
Calyx Liu
Hammad Masood
Madeleine Montgomery
Skylar Neuendorff
Carson Newman
Anika Patel
Jessie Ren
Kelsey Richardson
Rhianna Rose
Amy Roush
Grayson Seidel
Max Stallop
Sebastian Xavier Tan
Eileen Wang
Qi Wang
Andrew Yu
Jason Zhao
Ryan Zhou

Semifinalists now advance to the finalist level of competition, where students must have an outstanding high school academic record, be endorsed and recommended by the school principal, and submit SAT scores that confirm his/her earlier qualifying test performance. Finalists will be announced in February 2017.

About 90 percent of the semifinalists are expected to attain finalist standing, and more than half of the finalists will win a National Merit Scholarship, earning the Merit Scholar title. Last year, Westlake finished with 28 Finalists.

The National Merit process started with more than 1.4 million juniors in 22,000 schools who took the Preliminary SAT test in 2015; semifinalists were the highest-scoring participants.

Powered by Finalsite