Westlake High School

128 Westlake Students Recognized By National Merit Scholarship Program

The National Merit Scholarship Program recognized 128 Westlake High School students for 2021, with 33 Semifinalists, 70 Commended, 20 Hispanic Scholars, four Indigenous Scholars and one African American Scholar. National Merit Semifinalists represent less than one percent of U.S. high school seniors.

“We are always so incredibly proud of our National Merit Scholars, but this group has shown exceptional strength to succeed while living and learning during a pandemic,” said Westlake Principal Steve Ramsey. “Our students have a lot to be thankful for to achieve such an honor and I would be remiss if I did not recognize the WHS staff and all of the staff in our elementary and middle schools for making an impact on these students.“

The 33 National Merit Semifinalists are (names of all scholars will be released soon):

Madeleine Brutin
Rebecca Bundrant
Eric Ching
Jash Desai
Conor Dwyer
Henry Easton
Jack Forbes
Varun Gokhale
Frederick Guo
Emma Hoffman
Hudson Huff
Hayden Kern
Natalie Kley
Cole Kosch
Ava Ladd
Albert Li
Harvey Li
Robert Neathery
Kailey Pittman
Isabella Quan
Ruhi Rachakonda
Addison Rhodes
Yuvraj Sahu
Clarissa Shin
Wesley Skirrow
Leon Tang
Siddharth Vetrivel
Joy Wang
Sarah Wang
Christopher Wu
Kristi Xing
John Yi
Steven Zheng